14-Day Iceland Self-Drive Tours Compared
Two weeks is where an Iceland self-drive stops being a lap and becomes a tour: every 14-day package on the market adds the Westfjords and Snæfellsnes to the Ring Road - the regions every shorter itinerary drops first. But "every 14-day package" is a short list. Of the five brands we compared at 10 days, only three sell one, and two of those are the same company. On 15 August 2026 we put one identical query - two adults sharing one room, departing 15 September 2026 - through all three booking engines. The answers ranged from €1,942.50 to €3,854.50 per person, a spread of €1,912 for routes that, at this duration, genuinely match.
Who Actually Sells This Trip
Guide to Iceland, Nordic Visitor and Iceland Tours each sell a 14-day, 13-night loop covering the Ring Road, the Westfjords and Snæfellsnes, ferry crossing included. Nordic Visitor and Iceland Tours are both Travel Connect brands from the same Reykjavík address - the ownership chain is documented on the 10-day comparison. The other two brands from that comparison do not compete here:
| Brand | What it sells instead |
|---|---|
| Arctic Adventures | No self-drive longer than 10 days. The Complete Iceland 10-Day Self-Drive Tour (from 4,110 USD per adult on the listing page) is its longest. Self-drive listing. |
| Hey Iceland | No 14-day version. The closest are "Around Iceland in 13 days" (from 2,385 EUR per person) and a 15-day version. 13-day product page. |
The Same Question, Asked Three Times
Every quote below comes from the operator's own public booking engine, entered on 15 August 2026 with the same parameters: two adults sharing one room, fourteen days and thirteen nights departing 15 September 2026, the cheapest car offered, prices in euro. Nordic Visitor charges in ISK and displays a euro approximation; its ISK figures are in the notes column of the dataset.
| Operator | Tier | Per person | Total for two | Room | Car |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Guide to Iceland | Default configuration (the engine picks the cheapest option for each night) | €1,942.50* | €3,885 | Seven of thirteen nights are dormitory, capsule or sleeping-bag beds, four are rooms with shared bathrooms, two have a private bathroom; breakfast on four nights | Toyota Aygo 2WD 2025 or similar, automatic, 14-day rental included |
| Iceland Tours | Budget | €3,278 | €6,556 | Guesthouses and country hotels with shared bathroom facilities; daily breakfast; Blue Lagoon Comfort admission included | Toyota Aygo or similar, 13 rental days |
| Nordic Visitor | Economy | €3,307 | €6,614 | Rooms in "good quality guesthouses, farmhouses, or hostels"; bathroom arrangements not stated; daily breakfast | Toyota Yaris or similar, manual, 12 rental days |
| Iceland Tours | Comfort | €3,403.50 | €6,807 | Hotels, boutique farmhouses and guesthouses with private bathrooms; daily breakfast; Blue Lagoon Comfort admission included | Toyota Aygo or similar, 13 rental days |
| Nordic Visitor | Comfort Plus | €3,854.50* | €7,709 | Standard rooms in "good quality 3-star hotels" or similar rural properties; daily breakfast | Toyota Yaris or similar, manual, 12 rental days |
* Derived by dividing a displayed total for two by two. Promotions running on the day: Nordic Visitor's figures are shown after an advertised 10% discount; Iceland Tours advertised code AURORA10 for 10% off September travel, which its figures above do not include.
What The Cheapest Quote Actually Books
Guide to Iceland's €3,885 total is real and bookable, and its default configuration deserves reading twice. Seven of the thirteen nights are dormitory, capsule or sleeping-bag beds; four more have shared bathrooms; two nights on Snæfellsnes have a private bathroom; and breakfast appears on four nights. Night ten, at Hotel Breidavik in the southern Westfjords, is sleeping-bag accommodation - the Icelandic guesthouse convention where you bring your own bedding. It is one line in the booking panel of a €3,885 package holiday.
| Night | Area | Property | What is booked |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Reykjavík | KEX Hostel & Hotel | 2× 42-bed dorm, no meal included |
| 2 | Southwest Iceland | Bakki Apartments & Hostel | 2× dormitory accommodation, no meal included |
| 3 | South Coast | The Fox Hostel | Double bed in 8-bed mixed dormitory, no meal included |
| 4 | Southeast Iceland | Höfn HI Hostel | Shared bathroom, no meal included |
| 5 | Eastfjords | Husey Hostel & Horse Farm | 2× budget dorm room with shared bathroom, no meal included |
| 6 | North Iceland | Hafnarstraeti Hostel | Double capsule bed in mixed dormitory, no meal included |
| 7 | Northwest Iceland | Bakkaflöt Guesthouse | Standard double room with shared bathroom, breakfast included |
| 8 | Westfjords | Hotel Laugarholl | Room with a wash-basin, shared bathroom, breakfast included |
| 9 | Westfjords | Managisting Guesthouse | Twin/family room with shared bathroom, no meal included |
| 10 | Southern Westfjords | Hotel Breidavik | Twin room, sleeping-bag accommodation, no meal included |
| 11 | Snæfellsnes Peninsula | The Freezer Hostel | Superior triple with private bathroom, breakfast included |
| 12 | Snæfellsnes Peninsula | The Freezer Hostel | Superior triple with private bathroom, breakfast included |
| 13 | Reykjavík | KEX Hostel & Hotel | 2× 42-bed dorm, no meal included |
The fair comparison is against Iceland Tours' Budget tier at €3,278 per person: the extra €1,335.50 per person over Guide to Iceland's default buys a private room every night, thirteen breakfasts each, and Blue Lagoon admission - a different product, not a mark-up on the same one.
What Each Package Includes
| What | Guide to Iceland | Nordic Visitor | Iceland Tours |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nights of accommodation | 13 | 13 | 13 |
| Days of car hire | 14 | 12 | 13 |
| Breakfast | Not listed as an inclusion; four of the thirteen nights in the quoted configuration | Daily | Continental, every day |
| Private bathroom | Not guaranteed; two of thirteen nights in the quoted configuration | Not stated on the tour page for Economy | Comfort and Quality yes; Budget is shared |
| Route beyond the Ring Road | Golden Circle, Westfjords, Snæfellsnes | Westfjords, Snæfellsnes | Snæfellsnes, Westfjords, Blue Lagoon admission |
| Westfjords ferry | Baldur ferry ticket included | Ferry from Brjánslækur to Stykkishólmur included | Baldur ferry tickets included |
| Insurance named as included | CDW and gravel protection | CDW | CDW |
| Airport transfers | No - you collect the car at Keflavík | Both ways, semi-private | No |
| Unlimited mileage | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Second driver | Not stated | Two authorised drivers | Two as standard |
| In-car Wi-Fi | Unlimited | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Extras specific to one operator | Access to a "VIP Club" discount scheme | Climate action contribution | Blue Lagoon Comfort admission; carbon offsetting |
- Days of car hire: The same split as at 7 days: Nordic Visitor books you airport transfers instead of first- and last-day car hire.
- Breakfast: Twenty-six rural breakfasts for two people is a real sum, and one of the three does not include them.
- Route beyond the Ring Road: All three 14-day products add the Westfjords and Snæfellsnes - at this duration the routes genuinely match.
- Insurance named as included: Nobody includes sand-and-ash protection or a reduced excess at either duration.
Take the data. Every quote and every inclusion on this page is available as a single CSV file, generated from the same source that produces the tables above, released under CC BY 4.0.
What Nobody Includes
- Flights to and from Iceland
- Fuel
- The kilometre road charge (kílómetragjald)
- Sand-and-ash protection and any reduced insurance excess
- Personal travel insurance
- Meals other than the breakfasts noted above
- Entrance fees and parking charges
The insurance gap matters more at this duration than at any other: all three routes spend days on the gravel roads of the Westfjords, and none of the three includes sand-and-ash protection or a reduced excess - see car rental insurance for the excess figures. The kilometre road charge also runs longer here: where the rental car is registered on the fixed day rate it accrues for every rental day, and the three packages carry 14, 13 and 12 of them respectively - the rates are on our road charge page.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which 14-Day Iceland Self-Drive Package Is Cheapest?
On an identical query - two adults sharing, departing 15 September 2026, read on 15 August 2026 - Guide to Iceland quoted the lowest total at €3,885 for two, about €1,942.50 each. The configuration behind that number: dormitory, capsule or sleeping-bag beds on seven of the thirteen nights, shared bathrooms on another four, breakfast on four nights only - and night ten is "sleeping-bag accommodation", meaning you bring your own bedding. Among packages with breakfast every day and a proper bed every night, Iceland Tours' Budget tier was cheapest at €3,278 per person, which also includes Blue Lagoon Comfort admission.
What Does "Sleeping-Bag Accommodation" Mean?
It is a long-standing Icelandic guesthouse convention: you get a bed, a pillow and usually a duvet-less bunk or made-down mattress, and you bring your own sleeping bag or bedding. It is a genuine way to travel cheaply in rural Iceland - but it is a surprising thing to find inside a package holiday. Guide to Iceland's cheapest 14-day configuration books exactly that at Hotel Breidavik in the southern Westfjords, and the only sign is one line in the booking panel. If you book the default configuration, pack accordingly - or upgrade that night.
Do The Three 14-Day Routes Actually Match?
Better than at any other duration we have compared. All three products circle the full Ring Road and add both the Westfjords and Snæfellsnes; all three include the Westfjords ferry crossing. Iceland Tours alone adds Blue Lagoon Comfort admission on the arrival day. At 7 days the products differ mainly in car days; at 14 days they genuinely describe the same trip, which makes the remaining price gaps more informative rather than less.
Are Nordic Visitor And Iceland Tours The Same Company?
They are two brands of the same company, Travel Connect, run from the same building at Suðurlandsbraut 34 in Reykjavík - the ownership chain is documented, from Iceland Tours' own about page, on our 10-day comparison. Only three brands sell a true 14-day Ring Road self-drive, and two of them are Travel Connect, so a traveller collecting "three independent quotes" at this duration is really comparing Guide to Iceland with one company twice.
Do These Packages Include Full Insurance On The Rental Car?
No. All three include a collision damage waiver; Guide to Iceland also names gravel protection. None includes sand-and-ash protection and none reduces the excess. Over fourteen September days - including gravel stretches in the Westfjords, where all three routes go - those are precisely the covers you are likeliest to want. Budget for the rental desk, and read our car rental insurance guide for the operators' own excess figures first.
Is 14 Days Worth It Over 10?
What the extra four days buy, on all three operators' own routings, is the Westfjords - the region every shorter itinerary drops first, and the one our 10-day comparison found no package included. The 14-day products also make Snæfellsnes standard rather than an option. If the Westfjords are not the point for you, the 10-day versions of these same loops cost meaningfully less; our 10-day comparison prices all five brands on the same September date. If they are the point, 14 days is the honest minimum for driving there and back around the full circle.
Method And Limits
Every price on this page was read on 15 August 2026 from the operator's own public booking engine, using one identical query: two adults sharing one room, fourteen days and thirteen nights departing 15 September 2026, the cheapest car offered, displayed in euro. We did not complete any booking or contact any operator, no operator has seen this page before publication, and we take no commission. Prices move: these figures describe one departure read on one day. The inclusion table is the durable part. Where a page does not state something we write "not stated" - a claim about the page, not the product. Sources: Guide to Iceland, Nordic Visitor and Iceland Tours product pages; Arctic Adventures' self-drive listing and Hey Iceland's 13-day page for the near-misses; the Travel Connect ownership from Iceland Tours' own about page.
Related Guides
The 10-day comparison covers all five brands on the same September date, with the full ownership story; the 7-day comparison is this page's twin at the other end of the range. Driving the Ring Road covers the route, F-roads & the highlands what these packages' insurance will not cover, and when to visit what a September departure offers.
Last updated: 2026-08-15 · Reviewed against official sources.