7-Day Iceland Self-Drive Tours Compared
A week is the shortest span in which the Ring Road is honestly drivable, and the first finding of this comparison arrived before a single price did: of the five brands we compared at 10 days, only three sell a true 7-day Ring Road self-drive at all - and two of those three are the same company. On 15 August 2026 we put one identical query - two adults sharing one room, departing 15 September 2026 - through all three booking engines. The answers ranged from €805 to €1,855.50 per person, and as usual, most of that €1,051 gap is not margin - it is different products behind similar names.
Who Actually Sells This Trip
Guide to Iceland, Nordic Visitor and Iceland Tours each sell a 7-day, 6-night Ring Road self-drive, and all three route it identically in outline: the full circle, no Snæfellsnes, no Westfjords. Nordic Visitor and Iceland Tours are both Travel Connect brands run from the same Reykjavík address - the ownership chain is documented on the 10-day comparison - so a three-quote comparison at this duration is really Guide to Iceland against one company, twice. The other two brands from the 10-day comparison sit this duration out:
| Brand | What it sells instead |
|---|---|
| Arctic Adventures | No 7-day Ring Road self-drive. Its 7-day product, "West & South Iceland in 7 Days" (from 3,047 USD per adult), covers Snæfellsnes, the Golden Circle and the south coast only. Product page. |
| Hey Iceland | No 7-day version. Its "Around Iceland" series runs 8, 9, 10, 11, 13 and 15 days; the 8-day (from 1,435 EUR per person, rooms with private bathroom and breakfast, car for 8 days) is the closest. Product page. |
The Same Question, Asked Three Times
Every quote below comes from the operator's own public booking engine, entered on 15 August 2026 with the same parameters: two adults sharing one room, seven days and six nights departing 15 September 2026, the cheapest car offered, prices in euro. Nordic Visitor charges in ISK and displays a euro approximation; its ISK figures are in the notes column of the dataset.
| Operator | Tier | Per person | Total for two | Room | Car |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Guide to Iceland | Default configuration (the engine picks the cheapest option for each night) | €805* | €1,610 | All six nights are dormitory beds or rooms with shared bathrooms; no meals on any night | Toyota Aygo 2WD 2025 or similar, automatic, 7-day rental included |
| Iceland Tours | Budget | €1,399 | €2,798 | Guesthouses and country hotels with shared bathroom facilities; daily breakfast | Toyota Aygo or similar, 6 rental days |
| Iceland Tours | Comfort | €1,459 | €2,918 | Hotels, boutique farmhouses and guesthouses with private bathrooms; daily breakfast | Toyota Aygo or similar, 6 rental days |
| Nordic Visitor | Economy | €1,635 | €3,271 | Rooms in "good quality guesthouses, farmhouses, or hostels"; bathroom arrangements not stated; daily breakfast | Toyota Yaris or similar, manual, 5 rental days |
| Nordic Visitor | Comfort Plus | €1,855.50* | €3,711 | Standard rooms in "good quality 3-star hotels" or similar rural properties; daily breakfast | Toyota Yaris or similar, manual, 5 rental days |
* Derived by dividing a displayed total for two by two. Promotions running on the day: Nordic Visitor's figures are shown after an advertised 10% discount; Iceland Tours advertised code AURORA10 for 10% off September and October travel, which its figures above do not include.
What The Cheapest Quote Actually Books
Guide to Iceland's €1,610 total is a real, bookable price, and it is the same marketplace mechanism our 10-day comparison documented, taken further: the engine's default configuration for these dates books dormitory beds or shared-bathroom rooms on all six nights and includes no meals whatsoever. On the 10-day quote at least two nights carried breakfast; here, none do.
| Night | Area | Property | What is booked |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Reykjavík | KEX Hostel & Hotel | 2× 42-bed dorm, no meal included |
| 2 | North Iceland | Hafnarstraeti Hostel | Double capsule bed in mixed dormitory, no meal included |
| 3 | Eastfjords | Husey Hostel & Horse Farm | 2× budget dorm room with shared bathroom, no meal included |
| 4 | Southeast Iceland | Höfn HI Hostel | Shared bathroom, no meal included |
| 5 | Southwest Iceland | Bakki Apartments & Hostel | 2× dormitory accommodation, no meal included |
| 6 | Reykjavík | KEX Hostel & Hotel | 2× 42-bed dorm, no meal included |
Nothing here is hidden - every line is visible in the booking panel before you pay - but nothing on the product page prepares you for it either. The fair comparison is against Iceland Tours' Budget tier at €1,399 per person: €594 more per person buys a private (if shared-bathroom) room every night and six breakfasts each. The gap between the headline prices is substantially a difference in what is being booked.
What Each Package Includes
| What | Guide to Iceland | Nordic Visitor | Iceland Tours |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nights of accommodation | 6 | 6 | 6 |
| Days of car hire | 7 | 5 | 6 |
| Breakfast | Not listed as an inclusion; zero of the six nights in the quoted configuration | Daily | Continental, every day |
| Private bathroom | Not guaranteed; the quoted configuration has none | Not stated on the tour page for Economy | Comfort and Quality yes; Budget is shared |
| Insurance named as included | CDW and gravel protection | CDW | CDW |
| Airport transfers | No - you collect the car at Keflavík | Both ways, semi-private | No |
| Unlimited mileage | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Second driver | Not stated | Two authorised drivers | Two as standard |
| In-car Wi-Fi | Unlimited | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Taxes | VAT and all taxes | Taxes and service fees | VAT, taxes and service fees - road tax named as excluded |
- Days of car hire: Three different numbers for the same 7-day trip. Nordic Visitor puts you in airport transfers on the first and last days; Iceland Tours gives you the car for six; Guide to Iceland for all seven.
- Breakfast: Guide to Iceland's inclusion list does not mention breakfast at all - and its quoted configuration includes not a single meal.
- Insurance named as included: Nobody includes sand-and-ash protection or a reduced excess - the two covers that do the real work in Iceland. See the car rental insurance guide.
- Taxes: Iceland Tours is the only one of the three that names the kilometre road charge (as "Road Tax") in its exclusion wording.
Take the data. Every quote and every inclusion on this page is available as a single CSV file, generated from the same source that produces the tables above, released under CC BY 4.0.
What Nobody Includes
- Flights to and from Iceland
- Fuel
- The kilometre road charge (kílómetragjald)
- Sand-and-ash protection and any reduced insurance excess
- Personal travel insurance
- Meals other than the breakfasts noted above
- Entrance fees and parking charges
Two of those deserve a number. The kilometre road charge accrues per rental day where the rental company registers the car on the fixed day rate - so Nordic Visitor's five car days, Iceland Tours' six and Guide to Iceland's seven are also three different road-charge exposures; our road charge page has the rates. And on insurance, the pattern from the 10-day comparison holds exactly: CDW everywhere, gravel protection only at Guide to Iceland, and no sand-and-ash cover or reduced excess anywhere - see car rental insurance for what that costs at the desk.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which 7-Day Iceland Self-Drive Package Is Cheapest?
On an identical query - two adults sharing, departing 15 September 2026, read on 15 August 2026 - Guide to Iceland quoted the lowest total at €1,610 for two, about €805 each. As on our 10-day comparison, that figure is not what most people picture: the engine's default configuration books dormitory beds or shared-bathroom rooms on all six nights, including two nights in a 42-bed dorm, and includes no meals at all. Among packages that include breakfast every day, Iceland Tours' Budget tier was cheapest at €1,399 per person - and its rooms, though with shared bathrooms, are private rooms rather than dorm beds.
Can You Actually Drive Iceland's Ring Road In 7 Days?
The three operators who sell it clearly think so, and all three route it the same way: the full Ring Road with no Snæfellsnes and no Westfjords, because a week does not stretch that far. Iceland Tours says plainly on its own product page that the driving days are longer than on its 8- or 10-day versions. Six driving days around a 1,300-plus-kilometre loop means moving accommodation every night and roughly three to four hours in the car most days. It is a real itinerary, not a scam - but if you have an eighth day, every operator's own catalogue suggests using it.
Why Do The Packages Include Different Numbers Of Car Days?
Because they are structurally different products behind similar names. Guide to Iceland hands you the car for all seven days and lets you drive yourself from and to Keflavík. Iceland Tours gives you six days. Nordic Visitor gives you five - it books semi-private airport transfers on the first and last days instead, which is why it is also the only one of the three that includes transfers. None of these is wrong; they are different answers to the arrival-day problem. But it means the headline prices buy different amounts of car, which matters when you compare them.
Are Nordic Visitor And Iceland Tours The Same Company?
They are two brands of the same company, Travel Connect, run from the same building at Suðurlandsbraut 34 in Reykjavík - the ownership chain is documented, from Iceland Tours' own about page, on our 10-day comparison. For this page it matters doubly: only three brands sell a true 7-day Ring Road self-drive at all, and two of them are Travel Connect. A traveller comparing "three quotes" at this duration is really comparing Guide to Iceland with one company twice.
Do These Packages Include Full Insurance On The Rental Car?
No. All three include a collision damage waiver; Guide to Iceland also names gravel protection. None includes sand-and-ash protection and none reduces the excess - the two covers that matter most on Icelandic roads. Budget for buying those at the rental desk, and read our car rental insurance guide for the operators' own excess figures before you decide.
What If You Have 8 Days Rather Than 7?
The market widens. Hey Iceland's shortest Ring Road loop, "Around Iceland in 8 days", was published from €1,435 per person with a private bathroom and breakfast every night and the car for all eight days - a configuration none of the three 7-day packages matches at that price. Guide to Iceland and Iceland Tours also sell 8-day versions of their loops. The 7-day products exist for people whose flights fix the trip length; if yours do not, price the 8-day equivalents before booking.
Method And Limits
Every price on this page was read on 15 August 2026 from the operator's own public booking engine, using one identical query: two adults sharing one room, seven days and six nights departing 15 September 2026, the cheapest car offered, displayed in euro. We did not complete any booking or contact any operator, no operator has seen this page before publication, and we take no commission. Prices move: these figures describe one departure read on one day. The inclusion table is the durable part. Where a page does not state something we write "not stated" - a claim about the page, not the product. Sources: Guide to Iceland, Nordic Visitor and Iceland Tours product pages; Arctic Adventures' West & South 7-day page and Hey Iceland's 8-day page for the near-misses; the Travel Connect ownership from Iceland Tours' own about page.
Related Guides
The 10-day comparison covers all five brands, with the full ownership story and the road-charge arithmetic; the 14-day comparison is this page's twin at the other end of the range. Driving the Ring Road covers the route itself, and when to visit what a September departure actually offers.
Last updated: 2026-08-15 · Reviewed against official sources.